The Song of Amergin

I am the wind which breathes upon the sea,

I am the wave of the ocean,

I am the murmur of the billows,

I am the ox of the seven combats,

I am the vulture upon the rocks,

I am a beam of the sun,

I am the fairest of plants,

I am a wild boar in valour,

I am a salmon in the water,

I am a lake in the plain,

I am a word of science,

I am the point of the lance of battle,

I am the God who created in the head the fire,

Who is it who throws light into the meeting on the mountain?

Who announces the ages of the moon?

Who teaches the place where couches the sun?

(if not I)

 

Hoagland, Kathleen. 1000 Year of Irish Poetry: The Gaelic and Anglo-Irish Poets from Pagan Times to the Present. Old Greenwich, CT: Devin-Adair, 1981, print. p 3
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

